Observations all along the line - Kimball & the Southern Panhandle First

'Work In Progress' Begins For Wrestlers

Kimball took on the Bayard Tigers on Dec. 2. The final score was Kimball 15, Bayard 42.

At 106 Matthew Johnson, pinned Trace Shaw (1:24).

At 120 Cody Brinkman, won by forfeit.

At 138 James McGinnis, won by dec over Brock Burry (5-2).

At 152 Trenton Carrizales, pinned Justin Klosterman (3:26).

At 160 Kolton Kriha, pinned Trey Schindler (1:21).

Coach Cory McManigal: "I was proud of the kid's effort tonight. We talked about being a work in progress, so that started tonight. You can fix technique, but you can't really fix heart, and I thought we show some heart the first time out."

Kimball next went to Mullen for a 21-team tournament. We finished 14th out of 21 teams with 39 team points scored.

Trey Schindler placed 3rd at 152 in probably the toughest bracket in the tournament. Matthew Johnson placed 4th and 106 and James McGinnis placed 4th at 132.

Coach McManigal: "I thought we wrestled a lot better today then on Thursday. Trey Schindler had a very good day in a tough bracket. Everyone showed improvement which is very encouraging."

Kimball returns to action on Friday at the St. Pats tournament in North Platte and Saturday at the Charlie Lake Tournament at Cheyenne East.

Tournament Results


Matthew Johnson pinned Lucas Shaner Brady (:09)

Tristen Olsen Anselmo-Merna pinned Matthew Johnson (3:07)

Matthew Johnson pinned Trace Shaw Bayard (3:28)

Jeffery Forsen Mullen pinned Matthew Johnson (2:54)


Mitchell Stritt Southwest pinned Cody Brinkman (:45)

Cody Brinkman won by major dec over Kellen Nelson Brady (8-0)

Kaleb Christofferson Hitchcock Co pinned Cody Brinkman (:55)


James McGinnis pinned Gabe Kohel Morrill (4:23)

James McGinnis pinned Paden Morava Crawford (1:25)

Kyle Durfee Mullen pinned James McGinnis (1:07)

James McGinnis pinned Brock Burry Bayard (3:28)

Wesley Jacobs Hay Springs won by dec over James McGinnis (4-0)


Dawson Juelfs Leyton pinned Justin Klosterman (1:38)

Branson Anderson North Central pinned Justin Klosterman (1:33)


Spencer DeNaeyer Mullen won by dec over Trey Schindler (8-6)

Trey Schindler pinned Gabe Tretter Leyton (:16)

Trey Schindler won by major dec over Tyler Ellis Southwest (14-1)

Trey Schindler won by dec over Ezekial Heaton Hyannis (9-7)