Western Nebraska Observer - Observations all along the line - Kimball & the Southern Panhandle First

By Cory McManigal
For the Observer 

Longhorns 10th Of 25 At Mullen Invite

McGinnis First At Bayard And Mullen; Kauffman Third In First High School Tourney


December 8, 2022

For the Observer

James McGinnis at the Mullen Invitational last weekend. McGinnis placed first.

The Kimball Longhorns wrestling team traveled to Bayard to take on the Tigers on Thursday, Dec 1.

There were 4 matches contested:

145 – James McGinnis pinned Owen Talton (Bayard) 2:56

170 – Derek Kauffman pinned Jared Perkins (Bayard) 1:50

132 – Brock Burry (Bayard) pinned Cody Brinkman 1:14

138 JV – Owen Talton pinned Peter Russell (:30)

Bayard won the dual 36-12

The Longhorn wrestling team made the long trip to Mullen on Saturday, Dec 3, to take part in a 25-team invitational.

The Longhorns placed 10th out of 25 teams, scoring 40 team points.

The team was led by Senior James McGinnis, who had a first place finish.

Junior Derek Kauffman also had a great day in his first high school wrestling tournament, placing third.

Freshman 106-pounder Maison Holmes made his high school debut and competed hard, but went 0-2 on the day.

Junior returning state qualifier Cody Brinkman wrestled well at 132, but went 0-2 on the day.

Results for the tournament:

106 – Maison Holmes: DNP

Round 1 – Maison Holmes was pinned by Nolan Dueker (Bayard) 1:12

Cons Round 1 – Bye

Cons Round 2 – Maison Holmes was pinned by Dylan Kollmorgan (Hitchcock Co) 2:46

132 – Cody Brinkman: DNP

Round 1 – Jarrett Wells (Anselmo-Merna) pinned Cody Brinkman 1:12

Cons Round 1 – Bye

Cons Round 2 – Mason Giebler (St. Pats) pinned Cody Brinkman 0:43

138 – James McGinnis: 1st place

Round – 1 Bye

For the Observer

Derek Kauffman at the Mullen Invitational last weekend. Kauffman placed third.

Quarterfinals – James McGinnis pinned Paige Hollers (Med Valley) 0:10

Semifinals – James McGinnis pinned Mason Painter (Ainsworth) 1:01

Finals – James McGinnis won by decision over Chase McGrath (Bridgeport) 10-6

170 – Derek Kauffman: 3rd place

Round 1 – Bye

Quarterfinals – Derek Kauffman pinned James Kessler (Mullen) 3:13

Semifinals – Matthew Phelps (St. Pats) pinned Derek Kauffman 3:44

Cons Semifinals – Derek Kauffman pinned Kolter Rahn (Hershery) 2:08

3rd place match – Derek Kauffman won by no contest (5 match rule) over Coby Higgins (Sandhills-Thedford)

Next up for the Longhorns are visits Dec. 9 to North Platte St. Pat's and Dec. 10 to Cheyenne East.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2022

Rendered 02/05/2023 00:41