By Daria Anderson-Faden

Write-In Candidates Had The Write Stuff


November 17, 2022

In an unprecedented election in Banner County, write-in candidates determined the outcome of the election.

Both incumbent Banner County commissioners lost their bid for re-election to write-in candidates Robin Darnall and Laif Anderson. Anderson had 254 votes and Darnall had 221, while Commissioners Sandberg and Post had 113 and 108, respectively. All totals are unofficial until the canvassing board meets.

County Assessor Bernice Huffman lost to Kacy Krakow, 80-292.

County Clerk Lisa Cross lost her position to Katie West, 138-230.

Recently appointed County Treasurer Chelsea Mossberg lost as a write-in candidate to former treasurer employee Kathy Natale, who received 250 votes. Write-in votes in this race totaled 125, according to unofficial county election results.

Although Don Lease won in Banner and Kimball counties for state legislature District 48, he lost to Brian Hardin. In a close race, Hardin beat out Lease with 52.12% of the vote, while Lease had 47.88%.

In a lopsided victory, Elizabeth Tegtmeier beat incumbent Robin Stevens for the State Board of Education, District 7. Tegtmeier won in Banner County with 194 votes to Stevens’ 109.

In other races, dominant vote-getters in Banner County included incumbent Adrian Smith in the congressional race and Jim Pillen for governor.

Voter turnout for Banner County was 69.71%, while Kimball County turnout was 50.92%.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023