Observations all along the line - Kimball & the Southern Panhandle First

Lots Of Local Candidates

School Board, City Council, Commissioners Sure To Get New Blood

The elected offices in Kimball and Kimball County had a multitude of candidates filing prior to the deadline on Monday, March 2.

The primary election will be May 12 and the general election Nov. 3.

A full slate of individuals filed for the three seats that will be open on the Kimball School Board.

Those recently filing are Chauncey G. Pedersen, Tom O’Brien, Albert Hargreaves, Maggie Laughlin, Jennifer Griebel, Lanny Little and Laura Perry. Previously filing were incumbents Carrie M. Tabor and Heather Norberg.

The May 12 primary will narrow the school board field down to six individuals, and three will be elected in November. The school board is a four-year term.

Kimball City Council has two open seats that will be filled in November. Individuals who have filed for this office are Joette E. Wells, Kathy Porter, Gabriel J. Ingram and incumbent Kim Baliman.

Meanwhile, Jim Wertz, Justin Perry and Carl Stander have all filed as Republicans for the seat that will open for Kimball County commissioner. One of the three candidates will move on to the general election. This is also a four-year term.


• Incumbent Robert Dunkin Jr. filed for Kimball Airport Authority, which is a six-year term.

• Kimberly Gotfrey threw her name in the hat for the Dix Village Board on Dec. 20.

Rendered 06/12/2024 05:21