Western Nebraska Observer - Observations all along the line - Kimball & the Southern Panhandle First

Potter-Dix has 6 named All-MAC; Banner County has 3 named to list


The All-Minuteman Activities Conference basketball selections were recently announced, and Potter-Dix and Banner County were each well represented. Potter-Dix had four girls and two boys named All-MAC, while Banner County had two boys and one girl.

Freshman Audrey Juelfs was named first team All-MAC for the Lady Coyotes. She averaged a team-high 9.9 points per game, in addition to 4.2 rebounds per game, 4.2 assists per game and 4.1 steals per game in her inaugural high school campaign. Potter-Dix finished the season with a 15-5 record.

Sophomores Dawson Sharman and Alexus Rozelle were named second team All-MAC. Sharman averaged 7.9 points per game, 3.4 rebounds per game, 3.1 steals per game and 2.4 assists per game this season. Rozelle averaged 7.4 points per game and a team-high 8.1 rebounds per game this season. She also averaged 2.5 steals per game, 1.8 assists per game and 1.1 blocks per game.

Also for Potter-Dix, junior Anna McLaughlin was named an honorable mention All-MAC selection. She averaged 8.2 points per game, good for second on the team, in addition to 6.0 rebounds per game, 2.5 steals per game, 1.6 blocks per game and one assist per game.

For Banner County, senior Ashlynne Hanan was named an honorable mention All-MAC selection. Hanan averaged 8.2 points per game and 6.0 rebounds per game for the Lady Wildcats. She also averaged 2.5 steals per game, 1.6 blocks per game and one assist per game. Banner finished the season 3-17.

Banner County’s Tyson Dahlgrin was named first team All-MAC this season. The senior posted stellar numbers all around, averaging a double-double with 16.8 points per game and 13.1 rebounds per game. He also averaged 2.1 steals per contest. The Wildcats finished the season 6-14.

Cameron Purcell of Potter-Dix was named a second team All-MAC selection. The senior led the team offensively, averaging 13.6 points per game this season. He also averaged 2.7 rebounds per game, 2.3 steals per game and 2.0 assists per game. The Coyotes finished the season 6-15.

Also for the Coyotes, senior Jake Johnson was named an honorable mention All-MAC selection. He averaged 7.3 points per game and 5.5 rebounds per game, in addition to 2.1 assists per game and 1.5 steals per game.

Banner’s Mike McKown was also named an honorable mention All-MAC selection. McKown averaged 9.6 points per game, in addition to 3.2 rebounds per game, 3.0 steals per game and 1.9 assists per game.

First team All-MAC girls

Audrey Juelfs (Potter-Dix), Chellani Parriot (Bayard), Kaitlyn Berner (Leyton), Jessie Straber (Creek Valley), Courtney Leach (Garden County) and Angelica Longoria (Minatare).

Second team All-MAC girls

Miah Vera (Bayard), Shaela Jenkins (Leyton), Dawson Sharman (Potter-Dix), Shelby Richards (South Platte) and Alexus Rozelle (Potter-Dix).

Honorable mention All-MAC girls

Ashley Hanan (Banner County), Anna McLaughlin (Potter-Dix), Jill Behrends (Creek Valley), Hannah Schievelbein (Creek Valley), Audrey Dickmander (South Platte) and Diedra Waite (Leyton).

First team All-MAC boys

Yovan Perez (Minatare), Tyson Dahlgrin (Banner County), Cody McKay (Leyton), Justin Baird (Bayard) and Javier Guerrero (Minatare).

Second team All-MAC boys

Ryan Smith (Garden County), Tyler Fiscus (Bayard), Drew Brenner (Leyton), Cameron Purcell (Potter-Dix) and Brett Godfrey (Creek Valley)

Honorable mention All-MAC boys

Phillip Schuller (Bayard), Mike McKown (Banner County), Colin Brott (Creek Valley), Mason Zorn (Garden County), Zach Hellie (Leyton), Juan Garfio (Minatare), Dominic Longoria (Minatare), Jake Johnson (Potter-Dix) and Rowan Ford (South Platte).


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019