Western Nebraska Observer - Observations all along the line - Kimball & the Southern Panhandle First

Mohr receives Oregon Trail foundation scholarship


During the recent board of directors meeting, the Oregon Trail Community Foundation awarded nearly $64,000 in Scholarships to regional students.

Receiving $2,000 each from the Clara E. Muehlberger Scholarship was Ashleigh Galles of Hemingford, Justin Mohr from Kimball High School, Jessica Bragg of Gordon-Rushville High School, Michaela Flick of Sidney, Mykayla Brown of Bayard, Dani McKay and Kaitlyn Berner, both of Leyton High School, Cody Robinson and Brian Gould of Alliance, and Kaelia Nelson of Hemingford.

Receiving $1,000 each from the Clara E. Muehlberger Non-Traditional Scholarship were Mikaela Karpen of Mitchell and Timothy Herman of Scottsbluff.

Chelcey Mannel and Megan Brady, both from Gering, received the Margaret V. Lovercheck Scholarship for $2,000. The Lovercheck Scholarship is available to graduates of Gering High School and is to be used at a four-year college or university for the study of art, music, theater, literature, or journalism.

This year’s recipients of the Lawrence and Pauline Lemons Scholarship were Makayla Castro of Gering, and Tristen Wecker of Minatare, each being awarded $4,000. Jordan Salazar of Scottsbluff was presented with the Lawrence Lemons Memorial Scholarship for $500.

The CSI Scholarship Funds are available to graduates of Scottsbluff High School. Jackson Hinze of Scottsbluff was presented the CSI-A Scholarship of $4,000. Hanna Brown of Scottsbluff received a $4,000 CSI-B Scholarship, and the CSI-C Scholarship for $2,000 was awarded to Jarrett Ratliff of Scottsbluff.

“We are happy to be able to award so many deserving students scholarship money to help with their educational pursuits,” said board member Barb Schlothauer. “The committee works hard reviewing all applications and it is never easy because there are so many qualified applicants.”

The Panhandle Drug-Free Scholarship of $500 is available to high school seniors from the Nebraska Panhandle who are currently involved in a local drug-free youth group; this honor was awarded to Christa Horn of Alliance.

The Hispanic Advisory Scholarship for $350 each was awarded to Estela Mendez of Mitchell, Quentin Timblin of Gering, and Sinahi Garcia, Gabriela Valverde, Tristan Donelson, Jordan Salazar and Robert Cantril, all of Scottsbluff.

Rebecca Loya of Scottsbluff was presented with the Dill Scholarship of $1,000.

The Laurie Haugen Educational Scholarship for $1,500 was awarded to Nikki Anderson of Scottsbluff.

The Agri-Business Scholarship for $2,000 each was presented to Chance McAllister of Minatare, Trevor Ginkens of Sioux County High School, and Maggie Brunmeier of Bayard.

The Jane and Chet Fliesbach Scholarships were awarded to Mikayla Fulk, Karli Penrose, and Od Purevsuren, all of Scottsbluff, each receiving $1,000.

This year’s recipients of the Oregon Trail Community Foundation- Atkins Scholarship were Kylee Giles of Gordon-Rushville, Erin Buchanan of Southeast High School, and Tegan Carrier of Mitchell, each being awarded $1,000.

Receiving the Nursing Scholarship for $2,000 was Mikayla Butler of Gering

For more information about Oregon Trail Community Foundation scholarships, call 308- 635-3393 or contact your high school guidance counseling office. Application forms may also be downloaded from the foundation’s website at http://www.otcf.org.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017